The Marion Swimming Club was established in 1979 to serve the wider Marion community and was the youngest club to be awarded ‘Club of the Year’ by the state governing body, Swim SA. It first won the coveted award in 1982, just three years after the Club’s formation and has since won this award on a number of occasions including 2005 and 2006, with the latest being in 2016/17.

The Club has a proud past with swimmers competing at State, National, Commonwealth and Olympic Levels, including Hall of Fame Members Glenn Beringen, Olympic and Commonwealth Games Silver Medallist, Martin Roberts, Olympian, Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist, Sally Hunter, Olympian, Commonwealth Games Gold and Silver medallist and Matthew Cowdrey, Australia’s greatest Paralympian. Top swimmers are mentored by top coaches and Marion has a history of quality coaches led by Peter Bishop, Shelly Jarrett and Georgine Luscombe. Marion is currently the largest club in South Australia and is aiming to develop the next wave of Australia’s champions and rise to the top of swimming.

Marion has a history of developing swimming at all levels. Since its inception, Marion has partnered with our community to take competitive swimming to local schools and community groups. The highly successful Marion Primary Schools Carnival program that commenced in the early 80’s was one such program and we are proud to support the Come and Try initiative in conjunction with Swimming SA. We are currently involved in links being developed with stakeholders in the aquatic education and surf sectors across south-western Adelaide.

In recognition of outstanding performance at all levels, Marion Swimming Club was consistently awarded Go Club PB Gold status by Swimming Australia, until the program’s demise in 2015. However, Marion Swimming Club is not content to rest upon its laurels and is firmly committed to making new history. As the resident club at the SA Aquatic and Leisure Centre, Marion Swimming Club is the ‘Home of Swimming’.